Lime Jelly

I shall never buy flavoured jelly crystals again.

Maybe it was the saltiness of the pork marinade, but I found myself craving a cool sweet dish this evening.  I rarely have dessert, but I keep cans of fruit in the refrigerator against such need.    This evening I really felt like jelly.  I have gelatin in the pantry of course, so I decided to make a fruit jelly.  and then I hit on something really cool.

Lime cordial.  Makes great jelly. Not too sweet.

In a measuring jug add;

1 heaped tablespoon gelatin whisked in 100mls boiling water

1 can fruit salad or tinned fruit of your choice along with juice.

120mls Schweppes lime cordial

water to make up to 700mls.

mix and chill

 

Note:  one tablespoon gelatin  in 100 ml boiling water is sufficient to set 400ml of liquid to make 500ml jelly.

 

 

 

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lime Jelly

  1. Alan says:

    I made COFFEE Jelly too. From a very strong brew. Then I served it with cream and icecream as iced coffee jelly. I was the only one to try it. I thought it was good.

  2. Alan says:

    Lime cordial jelly by itself is really good. My next batch will be lemon lime and bitters jelly.

please comment