Slow Cooker Tomato Sauce

Here in the outback, you make do with what is on hand and waste as little as possible.  Even the liquid from pickle jars has potential.  I think my use of it is quite innovative.

Fresh tomatoes are not usually an option for making sauce due to the cost.   As I did for my Plum Sauce I opted for canned tomatoes, this time supplemented with tomato paste concentrate.

Of course, I could just buy a bottle of sauce from the shop, but Wattie’s is not available, and there are no others here to my liking.

At this time, I still have no stove or oven so I thought I’d try making sauce in the slow cooker.  It works!

This combination of spices I had on hand works well for me and produced a pleasantly spicy “warm” tomato sauce which may even be an improvement on Mr. Wattie’s.

Ingredients:

  • 2 (400g) cans chopped tomatoes
  • 2 x 250g jars Tomato paste
  • Enough water to rinse out the cans and jars – about a cupful.
  • ½ cup of Cider vinegar
  • ½ cup vinegar/brine from pickled onion and dill pickle jars  As these were already salty I added no more salt. They also already contained peppercorns and mustard seed.
  • 1 Tbsp. Onion powder
  • 1 tsp. Garlic powder
  • ½ tsp. Mace
  • ½ tsp. Ground star anise
  • 3 Bay leaves
  • 1 tsp. Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. Ground Cardamom
  • 5 or 6 Cloves
  • ½ tsp. Chipotle chilli powder  (or use cayenne)
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • A dash of Bitters

Method:

  1. Mix all ingredients
  2. Cook for six hours or so on low
  3. Remove bay leaves
  4. Blend well with a blender wand
  5. Cook another half hour and bottle in sterilised bottles or jars

The recipe above filled these two bottles plus a pickle jar.  Just over 2 litres.

sauce

I tried it out as soon as it had cooled.  It was good.  It will improve even more as it matures

sauce2

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in accompaniment, barbecue, chilli, sacred food, sauce, slow cooker and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow Cooker Tomato Sauce

  1. Bob Macfarlane says:

    You should patent it then franchise it. You could be the next KFC!!

please comment

