Fillet of Beef

Some time ago I bought a vacuum packed beef fillet and froze it.

I am currently house-sitting and found this curious device in the cupboard:

IMG_3793

I was going to cut the fillet into steaks, or maybe make beef wellington, but instead I decided just to cook it whole in this cooker.  I am glad I did.

I thawed the beef overnight in the ‘fridge, and took it out to let it come to room temperature before cooking.

I rubbed it with oil, garlic, salt and pepper and dropped it into the preheated cooker.

Ten minutes a side.

Then sliced into steaks, served with coleslaw and beetroot.

Bloody delicious.

Hot Easter dinner and lots left over for sandwiches, with chutney and salad.

This grill looks like a very useful utensil.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Beef and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

please comment

