Chilli Salmon Cake

I had some of the lemon-infused mashed potato left over from yesterday’s Seafood Pie . I decided that since it went so well with fish, I’d do it again.  This was a lot easier than my usual fishcakes.

I merely opened a tin of salmon, drained the brine and tipped the fish into a bowl along with about two cups of mashed potato, two eggs, chopped parsley, quite a lot of chilli flakes, and a finely chopped onion. It was just a little sloppy so I added about two tablespoons of fine dried breadcrumbs and about a tablespoon of parmesan cheese, which was all I had left of the granulated sort that comes in a sprinkler jar. I let it marinate in the ‘fridge for an hour or so.

Next I rolled it into patties and dredged them in a mixture of my home-made fine breadcrumbs* and fine polenta.  Then I fried one in olive oil until it was crisp on the outside.  I served it for brunch with some baby spinach leaves, cherry tomatoes and the dressing I made for the beetroot salad.  It was so good I cooked another.  And ate it.  The rest went into the freezer.

For a quick nosh-up of leftovers I thought it was very tasty, and worth recording so I can do it again.

image

That is my small 20cm frying pan.  The fishcake is about 10cm in diameter and 2cm thick.

 

* Breadcrumbs:

I keep leftover bread and crusts in a bag in the freezer until I have enough to make a batch of crumbs.  I dry the bread in the oven at about 100C for a few hours, cool it and blend it finely in the blender along with a quarter teaspoon each of turmeric and paprika.  There is very little that uses breadcrumbs that could not use turmeric and paprika.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, fish, potato and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chilli Salmon Cake

  1. Pingback: Chilli Salmon Cake | Foodfhonebook

please comment

