Tomato Sauce

At last I have ordered a Mouli.  This is essential for making such things as this sauce. The effort of pushing stuff through a strainer has put me off making it for years, since my last Mouli broke.  And that was before one of my arms was partly disabled.

This is a tried and true recipe: the best homemade Tomato Sauce ever (in my humble opinion), adapted from the recipe of a friend’s mum. When the Mouli arrives, I can make some again, though I must also collect some bottles to put it in. In the meantime, having dug the recipe out on my recent trip to NZ, I share it with you.  This makes quite a lot. You may wish to halve the recipe.

Notice there is no added sugar.

  • 5 Kg tomatoes diced
  • 1.5 Kg sour apples peeled, cored and sliced
  • 1.5 Kg onions sliced
  • 120g (7 Tbsp) salt
  • 60g fresh ginger chopped or grated
  • 1.5 litres white vinegar
  • 60g whole cloves
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 tsp. cayenne
  • 1 tsp. mace
  • 1 Tbsp whole allspice
  • 60g whole peppercorns
  • 6 Bay leaves
  • 1 crushed Disprin
  1. Put the herbs, spices etc. in muslin bag
  2. Cook all ingredients 2-3 hrs., until consistency looks right
  3. Remove spices, strain or mouli the sauce
  4. Reheat and bottle

Don’t ask about the Disprin. It has to be there because Patti Wilkins, the lady whose recipe I borrowed and adapted, said so. The only changes I made are in the amount and type of herbs and spices. And I converted it to metric.

tomato-sauce-30917_l

 

 

 

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in accompaniment, sauce, spices and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

please comment

