Festive Sausage Rolls

Somehow I have established a reputation for the sausage rolls that I bring along sometimes to parties and office functions.  I have been tinkering with the recipe for years, and until now the best I came up with were my turkey sausage rolls .

I would have liked to use turkey for this effort at a festive upgrade, but minced turkey is not available here.  I had to make do with prime lean minced beef and some pork sausage. I introduced toasted pine nuts  and cranberry sauce, and finely chopped red and green peppers for festive colour.   I also put in a tot of Irish Whiskey.  Because it’s Christmas.  However, I do not think it is necessary.  I won’t know for sure until I have reproduced this recipe without it.   Though I could not detect the flavour at all, there was something special about this batch.  The rolls were very well received.  I was pleased with them because the texture of the filling was perfect, and the taste was very satisfying.  I have cut down on the crumbs, and tried to reduce the water content by using dried onion in place of fresh.  I could not get any sausage meat so I bought pork sausages and removed the filling from their skins.

xmasrolls

Ingredients:

  • 500g lean prime minced beef
  • 250g pork sausage meat
  • 125 g chopped bacon pieces (half a pack)
  • 1 medium carrot finely grated
  • 1/2 cup fine dried breadcrumbs I make my own- see beow
  • 1/4 cup dried onion flakes soaked in a tot of Whiskey
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped red and green capsicum
  • 1 tsp dried sage
  • 1/2 tsp rosemary
  • 1/4 tsp powdered bay
  • 1 tsp Italian herb mixture
  • 1 tsp dried parsley flakes
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 good pinch of smoked dry chilli sambal (a dash of tabasco might do)
  • 100g pine nuts
  • 1 egg for the mixture, and 1 beaten egg for glazing the pastry
  • A jar of cranberry sauce
  • 4 sheets of flaky/puff pastry, cut in half (8 half sheets)
  • a saucer of milk
  • poppy seeds

 

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 200C (180 fan forced)
  2. Lightly toast the pine nuts in a lightly greased pan. Do not burn them.
  3.  Mix thoroughly all the ingredients except the poppy seeds, milk and cranberry sauce (and the pastry!). I use a dough hook on the Kenwood – because hygiene.
  4. Leave to stand, covered, in the fridge for an hour or three.
  5. put a roll of mixture along one side of each half sheet of pastry and spread a dollop of cranberry sauce alongside. Wet the other end of the sheet, where the pastry will overlap, with milk.
  6. Roll up the pastry and glaze the top with beaten egg, using a pastry brush.
  7. Sprinkle with poppy seeds, and cut each roll into four
  8. Bake for 25-30 minutes until golden brown.

 

Breadcrumbs:

I keep leftover bread and crusts in a bag in the freezer until I have enough to make a batch of crumbs.  I dry the bread in the oven at about 100C for a few hours, cool it and blend it finely in the blender along with a quarter teaspoon each of turmeric and paprika.  There is very little that uses breadcrumbs that could not use turmeric and paprika.

 

 

 

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Bacon, Beef, Party Food, Traditional and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

please comment

