Jalapeño Periperi Chicken Wrap

If you don’t like hot, stop now.   

This was an idly conceived late Sunday brunch. I was not intending to blog it, but it turned out really well. So tasty and pleasantly hot.  So good in fact, I had two wraps. There is still enough chicken left for another four.  

  • 400 g chicken breast
  • Hot Peri Peri sauce – about a tablespoonful or so
  • A few jalapeño, chopped small
  • Lime juice – a few dashes
  • Oyster sauce – a tablespoonful 
  • Worcestershire sauce – a few dashes
  • Crushed garlic
  • Flour wraps or tortillas
  • Bean salad as blogged earlier. This batch has feta and champignons added with lime juice, Tabasco and Paul Newman’s Caesar dressing. 
  • HP or barbecue sauce for the wrap
  1. Cut the chicken into small pieces and marinate in the sauces, garlic, jalapeño and lime juice
  2. Cook in olive oil in a hot pan – simmer until the marinade reduces and the chicken is cooked
  3. Zap a wrap in the microwave for twenty seconds, 
  4. Add a squirt of HP or barbecue sauce, fill with chicken and bean salad, wrap and eat. 

  

      
    Bean salad satisfies my needs on my vegetarian days, goes with any meat, and keeps a week in the refrigerator.

      

    Hot periperilous chicken. 

      

     

    About Uisce úr

    Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
    This entry was posted in chicken, fusion, Mexican, Portuguese, sauce, spices, vegetables and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

    4 Responses to Jalapeño Periperi Chicken Wrap

    1. Alan says:

      Find anything at a reasonable price here. But that is why they pay me more and tax me less. Swings and roundabouts.

    2. Pilgrim33 says:

      The oyster sauce seems a bit odd but you’ve always liked that more than I.(Me?)

      • Alan says:

        I is correct, unless of course you mean I prefer oyster sauce over you. Not sure how you would go as a flavouring in a stir fry.

        The reason is because of the implied “do” ie you like it more than I (do).

        I find that oyster sauce is a good flavour enhancer and adds some body that soy sauce does not. Kecap manis does, but is sweeter.

        If I could find it, I would use anchovy sauce. I may just try making some if I can find some bulk anchovies at a reasonable price. Small hope.

    please comment

    