Apple and Cranberry Chutney

I think this should go well with bush turkey. It should be good with pork too.

  
 I am really getting into chutneys. They are so easy and there are so many possibilities to try. This one came about because a neighbour gave me some apples in return for some of my last chutney, and because I had some cranberries on hand. 

  • 10 average size apples, peeled and sliced (I precooked the apples with lemon juice and kept them in the fridge until I was ready to make the chutney – I made about 5 cups of stewed pulp).
  • A good squeeze of lemon juice
  • 2 cups raw sugar
  • 130g dried cranberries (because that is how much was in the packet)
  • 130g cranberry sauce (half a jar) – to boost the cranberry content
  • 1 cup sultanas 
  • 2 medium onions, finely sliced
  • 2 tsp mustard seeds
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp mace
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne
  • A few cloves
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 500ml apple cider vinegar (2 cups)
  1. Put all the ingredients into a large saucepan
  2. Bring to a boil slowly over a medium heat
  3. Reduce to low heat and simmer uncovered, stirring periodically for about 40 to 60 mins until it thickens
  4. Ladle into hot sterilised jars and seal.

  

   

   

That’s it! 
 

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in sauce and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apple and Cranberry Chutney

  1. Alan says:

    Cheers! I shared some of my chutney and now demand exceeds supply. I barely get enough for myself. But it is very flattering.

  2. mindfulfresh says:

    I am really getting into Chutneys as well. Love this, Looks beautiful and looks like it wouldn’t have lasted 24 hours in my fridge 🙂

please comment

