Roast Kangaroo Tail

Des gave me a kangaroo tail. As is his practice, it was frozen with the skin on, so the first task was to thaw it and skin it. Usually of course, to misquote a misquote of Mrs Beeton, the first thing is to catch your kangaroo.  At least I did not have to do that.  I am no good with a hunting boomerang. Neither is Des, he tells me. He uses a rifle. 

Though kangaroo is very lean (and a healthy choice) it has a thick pad of fat along the underside of its tail, which acts as a cushion because the tail is used as a third leg.  This may be why it is a very popular cut.  Des advised me to leave the fat on when cooking the tail, to enhance the flavour and tenderness of the meat.  The skin came off much more easily than I expected, but unfortunately so did the fat. 

Alternate plan needed.  

What I did was this:

  1. Cut the tail in half so it would fit in the oven
  2. Place it on two layers of foil
  3. Season the meat with garlic, salt, pepper, and some lemon and basil
  4. Sprinkle it with olive oil and wrap it in the foil
  5. Place in the oven and bake at 160C for forty minutes
  6. Unwrap it and bake a further 20 minutes at 200

I was not too sure what to expect, but I was most impressed with the result.  My first thought was that the meat had the texture and tenderness of lamb shank and a very similar flavour. 

Delicious. Really, really delicious.

  I am considering trying my lamb shank recipe on my next tail. I think it might be very good. 
  

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Roast, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roast Kangaroo Tail

  1. Pingback: Curried Horse a la Tika | Kummerspeck

please comment

