Hot, Slightly Miffed Buns.

SPECIAL UPDATE.

****************************************************************************

Following my disheartening effort below, (which I have not amended) the original chef whose work I purloined and adapted advised me that he had indeed, as I suspected, misread his own scribbled notes, and when typing them up, overstated the amounts of spices in the recipe.  The recipe on his page has been amended.  So do try it.  I will.

His ingredients are:

  • 1 lb strong white flour
  • 1/2 lb wholemeal flour
  • 4-5 oz mixed peel
  • 5-6 oz currants
  • 3 oz sugar (for the glaze)
  • 2 oz butter
  • 1/2 pint warm milk
  • 2 eggs
  • yeast
  • 1 tbsp mixed spice
  • 3/4 tsp cloves
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • A “bit” of nutmeg – 20 turns of the grater does it for me, it’s probably about 1/4 tsp
  • + just enough warm water to get the consistency right … it will be somewhat less than 1/4 pt.  Precise volume depends so much on the flour you are using which, I learned the hard way, certainly varies from country to country.

The spice quantities are minimum amounts – adjust to suit your own preferences (taste is a personal thing and Mr and Mrs Breadzilla differ in how much is too much) but maintain the proportions.

********************************************************************************************************
Original Post:

I relented and decided to try another Oestre recipe.  I was inspired by this one.  Because it came highly recommended, I tried to stick to the recipe as closely a possible.

I converted the recipe to Australian metric and volumes.  Not sure how many UK eggs make a metric Kimberley egg, we have big eggs here. So I stuck with three.  Also I currently have no currants, which is not a problem as I don’t like them anyway. Instead I added a packet of Craisins (dried cranberries).  But my improvements may have been in vain.

image

I checked my math three times, because it seemed the original recipe called for rather a lot of spice.

Other recipes seem to agree.  they use a lot less.  Viz:

500 g/1 lb 2 oz bread flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
85 g/3 oz light brown or light muscovado sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon mixed spice 
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
50 g/2 oz butter cut into 1/2 inch cubes
7 g/1 sachet Active Dry Yeast
140g/ 5 oz mixed dried fruit
150ml whole milk, lukewarm
150 ml water, lukewarm

I should have trusted my gut, for so it proved, in my opinion.  The batch was not  a complete disaster, but the buns leave a strong aftertaste that is not entirely pleasant.

Look at how light in colour the original buns are compared to mine.

Also I think the recipe needed salt and sugar as in the above.

I glazed the buns with honey instead of sugar water.  That, at least, was a good idea.

Secular Easter Buns, No Cross.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups bread flour
  • 1.5 cups wholemeal flour
  • 180 g mixed orange and lemon peel, chopped
  • 180 g dried cranberries
  • 350 ml milk warmed with 125g butter
  • 3 eggs
  • 26 g powdered cloves (This was too much in my opinion. The recipe called for 1.5 ounces -40 g!  I suspect it should have been 1.5 teaspoons!)
  • 40 g mixed spice   (1.5 ounces – ditto. I think this too should have been a lot less)
  • 15 g cinnamon (0.5 oz)
  • 1  tsp nutmeg (my addition)

Follow the method in the original.

But seriously, if you want to try this, rethink the spice amounts along the lines of the insert above. I shall next time, if there is one.  In fact, I think my carrot cake muffins are better.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

That’s enough for me.   Who the hell can I give the rest to?

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in bread, cakes and confectionery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hot, Slightly Miffed Buns.

  1. Abject and fulsome apologies from the original recipe poster … indeed yes, teaspoons and not ounces … in fact, start with teaspoons and then adjust amounts to personal taste but maintain the proportions. Does the usual excuse of “typo” cut it? Thought not 😦

please comment

