Mussel Fritters

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I take back what I said about Brain Fritters. They truly are really good but these mussel fritters are definitely better.  I am very pleased indeed with this recipe. This is Kiwi/Pacific/Asian fusion.   Take a bite of these fritters and the batter just melts away in the mouth leaving a symphony of sensation, flavour and texture. I made a dozen fritters this morning, that should have been enough for three people, but they were so good I ate them all.

I bought two packs of frozen whole mussels some time ago at Woolworth’s. Despite being NZ mussels, and therefore the best in the world (and I have eaten mussels in/from Europe, England, Australia and around the Pacific) I was disappointed in the first pack I cooked.  I should have realised that mussels are best fresh. I decided the second pack should be made into fritters.

mussels

So I steamed them open, extracted them from the shells, removed the byssus.  Then I chopped them up with the mezzalune, and made them into fritters, thus:

Mussel Fritters

Ingredients

  • two cups of chopped mussels
  • 1 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 1 Tblsp oyster sauce
  • a dash of Worcestershire sauce
  • a dash of fish sauce
  • 1 Tblsp crushed garlic
  • a good pinch of curry powder
  • a good pinch of cayenne
  • a grind or two of black pepper
  • a quarter teaspoon of amchur powder (or substitute half a tsp of cider vinegar)
  • half a cup of chopped parsley
  • 2 Tblsp thick Greek yoghurt
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 3 Tblsp plain flour
  • a good pinch of baking soda

Method

  1. Mix all ingredients except the parsley, eggs, yoghurt, flour and baking soda ; cover and stand in the refrigerator for at least an hour or preferably overnight.
  2. Mix in the egg and parsley, then the yoghurt and lastly the flour and baking soda
  3. Fry a tablespoon of the fritter mixture in butter and oil over a medium heat until browned and cooked through.
  4. Serve immediately.

The food acids and yoghurt react with the baking soda to make the fritters light and melt-in- the-mouth.  The curry  enhances the flavours  without overpowering them.

If I was serving these to guests I would serve them with a sauce of yoghurt, lime juice, chopped mint and coriander.


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA


About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, entree, fritters, mussels, seafood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mussel Fritters

  1. Pingback: Beignets de Cervelle d’Agneau | Kummerspeck

please comment

