Tandoori Roast Chicken

When Woolworths are selling their split chickens cheap because they are short dated, I buy them and freeze them.  I usually get the chilli and garlic ones, though sometimes the lemon and herb.  One thing I have found is that whichever I buy, chilli and garlic or lemon and herb, what they actually need is an extra dose of chilli and garlic or lemon and herbs.  A bit like commercial chicken soup, which could always do with the addition of chicken… and so on.

But I digress.

Today I took my chilli and garlic chicken and turned it into a tandoori roast.  Not quite traditional, I suppose, but very flavoursome.  Also the leftovers are delicious cold.

My non-traditional Tandoori paste:

Mix together;

  • 1 tsp chilli
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp tumeric
  • 1 tsp dried garlic flakes
  • 2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 3 Tblsp yoghurt
  • 1 Tblsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp salt
  • a few dashes of sesame oil

Rub the paste all over the chicken and leave to marinate for a few hours or more.  If possible, overnight.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Roast the chicken according to the instructions: for a split chicken it is about 25 minutes per 500g at 190C.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in chicken, curry, Indian, spices and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

please comment

