Chicken & Prawn Balls

On my second attempt to attend the Amateur Dramatic production, I made chicken and prawn balls to share.  I had to ask a friend to come around and roll the balls for me, as I am one-handed.

Chicken & Prawn Balls

 

They can be either fried or baked. Today I baked them so I sprayed them first with just  a little oil.

Here is the recipe.

Chicken & Prawn Balls

Into a food processor put;

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken thigh fillets, roughly chopped
  • a cup of frozen prawns
  • a bunch of fresh coriander leaves
  • half a cup of breadcrumbs
  • a tsp ground coriander
  • a tsp of whole cumin seeds
  • half a tsp galangal  (opt)
  • half a tsp amchur  (opt)
  • pepper
  • garlic
  • an egg
  • a dash each of lime juice, fish sauce, bitters and Worcestershire sauce

(I would usually add chilli, but one of the guests is allergic.  I would also add a couple of shallots, but I am out of them.)

  1. Pulse to mix to an even consistency, but not too much.  The frozen prawns should still be lumpy
  2. roll into balls and then roll in breadcrumbs
  3. lay out on baking paper and spray with oil and bake at 180 C for about 15-20  minutes
  4. OR deep fry.

Insert a toothpick into each one, garnish with coriander leaves , and serve with a dipping sauce.

This recipe is inspired by Michelle C’s delicious chicken balls.

 

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in chicken, prawns, sauce, Side dish, spices and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

please comment

