Savoury Mushroom and Bacon Cheese Bread

I found some aging home-made yoghurt in the back of the fridge and though it was somewhat old, it did not smell bad or have any blooms of mould.  I remembered that my dear auld Irish Grandma would never waste anything, even milk that had turned sour, so just as she would have done, I  used it to make some bread.

The bread is a  standard recipe:  flour, salt, yeast, a splash of olive oil and a little warm water with golden syrup to start the yeast but I cut down on the water and added the yoghurt as the main liquid ingredient.  The Kenwood Chef fitted with a dough hook did all the kneading for me.

While the dough was rising and proving, I fried up some bacon, onion, garlic and mushrooms with a little olive oil and added some pepper and a few herbs.  When it was well cooked and all the moisture gone I turned off the heat and let it cool.

After the dough had risen, I punched it down and rolled it out into a large rectangle on my bread board.  I spread the bacon and mushroom mixture across the dough, leaving a gap at the edges.  I added a few handfuls of nice tasty grated cheese.  Then I rolled up the dough,  glazed the top with egg and milk and sprinkled grated parmesan on it.

After leaving the loaf in a warm place to rise again (for about 40 minutes) I popped it into the oven which I had preheated to 200 C.  About 35 minutes later I had a huge loaf. Luckily Brenton called around, just as it was cooling.  I gave him half.  The half I had left lasted me a few days and once it began to dry out a little, made excellent toast.

Another successful experiment.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe last quarter. I almost forgot to take a photo.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Toast.

 

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Bacon, bread, sacred food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

please comment

