Muesli Bars

An exercise in experimental baking.

I like to mix my breakfast cereals.  I combine muesli, corn flakes, puffed wheat and so on, all the time. Whenever my current choice of breakfast cereal is running low, I add the last serve or two to a mixed container, and open something else.  My mixed container at the moment contains toasted muesli, corn flakes, puffed wheat, bran flakes, weeties, and heaven knows what.  I thought it might make a good muesli bar mixture, so I decided to try the idea.  I have never done this before, and without consulting any cookbooks or the internet, I resolved to work it out by myself.

I emptied the cereal container into the Kenwood mixing bowl. It just over half filled it.  Let us say, for the recipe, that would be around three-quarters of a packet of muesli/mixed cereal. I then added the following

    • 1 cup wholemeal flour
    • 1/2 cup ‘homemade’ plain Greek yoghurt (Easiyo)
    • 1/2 cup malt extract
    • 3/4 cup brown sugar
    • 2 eggs
    • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
    • about 1/2 cup of grated coconut – all I had left
    • a handful of chopped nuts.  Also all I had.
    • I would have added more of the last two if I had them on hand.   (The amounts used were just what looked or felt right for the consistency of the mix).

I gave it all a jolly good mix in the Kenwood using the K-bar attachment. While that was stirring up I greased and lined a 3cm baking tray, fired up the oven and set it to 160 C. I then poured the sticky mixture into the lined tray  and smoothed and flattened it with a plastic spatula. muesli bar 1 Next I covered the top with baking paper and foil, because I did not want the bars to brown too soon.  Into the middle of the oven it went. After 30 minutes I removed the cover and let it continue to bake, checking on it every ten minutes.  After an hour the colour was right so I removed it from the oven, lifted it out of the pan and cut it with a pizza knife.

Muesli bars

Muesli bars

Now for the taste test. Did it work?  I must wait until the bars have cooled.  The corner one was ok warm, but the real crunch comes when they are cold.  Or so I hope.

 One hour later:

Well, they do not have the texture I was expecting. More chewy than crunchy. But they are delicious!  I shall definitely be making these again. Quite pleased with myself.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, cakes and confectionery, coconut, Eggs, fruit, Leftovers, sacred food, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Muesli Bars

  1. Alan says:

    They were very popular. I had hardly any for myself. This weekend I made another batch using the same basic recipe but with a slighty different mix of cereals. This one had only a little toasted muesli, more corn and wheat flakes, some bran and some oatmeal, a whole packet of chopped nuts, a cup of coconut, vanilla essence, orange zest, 2 teaspoons cinnamon, and of course the wholemeal flour, yoghurt, malt extract, brown sugar and 2 eggs.

  2. Alan says:

    Thanks Sophie! I surprised myself with this one. Better than I expected. Maybe next time a little more dried fruit, nuts and coconut. Definitely a bit more cinnamon.

  3. sophiebowns says:

    I love this idea!

  4. Pingback: Zest | Hodophilia

please comment

