A Dozen Favourite Breakfasts

Glenn commented on a recent post that kedgeree was one of his three favourite breakfasts.  I would be interested to learn what the other two are.

I gave some thought to what my three favourites might be, and could not decide on the top three.  In fact the mental exercise brought to mind some great breakfasts, some of which  I had all but forgotten.

So far I have twelve favourite breakfasts, listed here in no particular order:

  • Full Irish Breakfast  – as served in the pub in Baile Uí Bheacháin (Ballyvaughan): Bacon, Eggs, Black pudding, White pudding, Sausage, Tomato, Toast and Irish tea.  A man can do a whole day of tourism on a start like that.  Some places I stayed served it with baked beans and hash browns, but that hardly seems Irish to me.  This breakfast knocks plain old bacon and eggs right off the list.
  • Fluffy omelette
  • Kedgeree
  • Rurae  – “stirred egg” Dutch Indonesian style
  • Bacon and Beans Dutch style
  • Kipper (smeared with a little lemon/lime aioli)  and toast
  • Indonesian curried chicken livers on toast
  • Spicy sweet corn fritters 
  • Scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on toast
  • Home made slow cooked Boston baked beans.  Knocks even Mr Wattie’s superlative canned baked beans off the list.  I last made this in Fiji.  Molasses is an essential ingredient. I must see if I can find some here.
  • Eggs BenedictKnocks plain old poached eggs off the list.
  • Bubble and Squeak

Over the next few months I am going to post the recipes for these breakfasts, except the Irish and those already posted.

I would be very interested to learn the favourite breakfasts of others. Please leave a comment!  

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Bacon, Breakfast, Eggs, fish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Dozen Favourite Breakfasts

  1. Alan says:

    I had not considered Porridge as a contender. Indeed yes.
    Irish style, with butter, brown sugar and cream.

  2. Pilgrim33 says:

    Did I not answer?
    Sorry.
    The other two are eggs Benedict and porridge
    Pancakes and bacon w/maple syrup a close follower.

please comment

