Unplanned Curry

An Unexpected Curry.

At the supermarket last week they had some very nice looking garlic grown in Spain.  The locally grown stuff is reasonable, the Asian is mediocre.  I decided to try this one.  I am going back tomorrow to get more before everyone discovers it and Woollies runs out.   It is rooolly good!  Not only is it very pungent and tasty, but the skin just slides off and each clove is so easy to slice.   I also bought a very large pair of short-dated rump steaks, weighing a total of 1200 g. They were half price and I am a sucker for bargains.  I thought a garlic pepper steak might be nice.  I put the steaks in the refrigerator to age a day or two past their use by date.   On Sunday, I remembered them, divided them into four 300g pieces and froze three with some garlic and Worcestershire sauce.   The fourth piece I cooked with garlic and pepper Sunday evening. I had not eaten much over the weekend except the steak sandwich at Rocky Gully on Saturday, so I was quite peckish, and looking forward to a tasty, tender steak.  Disappointment.  It tasted good, but was as tough as an old metaphor.  The magpies were lucky next morning.  They got almost a third of it.  I retreived the other three steaks from the freezer, cut them into large cubes, and decided to slow cook a curry.    This morning I prepared it all before work, and put it in the slow cooker.   I have no idea what to call this curry.  Is it a Nearly Vindaloo?  It is quite hot but also very fragrant and flavoursome. I have just had a some for dinner, with chapati, and I am so ecstatically happy with it that I am recording what I did so I can do it again.  This was one of the best curries I ever remember preparing, or even eating.  Back to salad tomorrow.

Ingredients:

  • 900 g steak, trimmed of fat, cubed and marinated overnight with slices of garlic in Worcestershire sauce.
  • 2 Tbsp  ground coriander
  • 1 tsp whole cumin seed
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 6 cloves
  • 9 cardamom pods
  • 1 star anise pod
  • 1/2 stick of cinnamon
  • 1  tsp black peppercorns
  • 2 tsp yellow mustard seeds
  • 1 tsp fenugreek seeds
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 6 chillies
  • 1 tsp chilli powder
  • 1 heaped tsp curry powder
  • 12  garlic cloves sliced (lots of garlic!)
  • 1 large onion chopped
  • 1 Tbsp grated ginger
  • ¼ cup Port
  • ¼ cup water
  • 3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1 heaped tsp beef stock granules
  • 3 Tbsp tomato paste
  • 3 tomatoes chopped (I would usually use a can of chopped tomatoes, but I had three big ones getting too ripe too fast).
  • 1 Tbsp peanut oil
  • 1 tsp peanut oil
  • 3 med potatoes peeled and cut into 5cm chunks
  • 3 med carrots peeled and cut into 2 cm cubes.

Prepared thus:

  1. Hot pan: Brown the meat in the Tbsp of oil
  2. Put the meat in the slow cooker
  3. Put a tsp oil in the same pan,  add all the spices except the cinnamon and the paprika
  4. Stir the spices into the oil & heat until they are bubbling and fragrant and the mustard seeds start to pop
  5. Throw in the onion and stir it for a bit until it softens and picks up the spices.
  6. Add the potatoes and carrots , stir until the potatoes are coloured by the spices
  7. Toss it all into the slow cooker
  8. Deglaze  the pan with the port and water, which you then throw into the slow cooker along with everything else that is not already in there.
  9. Stir it up
  10. Slow Cook.
Unexpected Curry

Unexpected Curry

Six meals!

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Beef, curry, Indian, spices and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

please comment

