Massaman Curry

This is a Thai curry of Muslim origin.  Naturally this is my own version, and possibly not completely true to the original.  I was reading the label of a Massaman curry mix packet in the supermarket and realised I had all the ingredients at home.  The packet said to just add beef, potato, coconut cream and peanuts, so I decided to have a go myself.  How hard could it be?

I discovered I did not have peanuts, so I substituted cashews.  Turned out ok by me.

As I have never had a Massaman curry before, I have no idea how this compares with the “real thing”, but it is bloody good and I have three portions left which are freezing right now for later.

Massaman Curry a la Katanning

Ingredients

  • 800 g beef, cut into cubes
  • 3 medium potatoes, cut into cubes
  • 1 tin coconut cream
  • 1/2 tin water to rinse out the tin
  • a couple of red chillies, seeded and sliced
  • 1/4 tsp chilli powder
  • 1 large onion, sliced
  • 1 Tablsp grated ginger
  • Lots of garlic
  • 1 tsp beef stock
  • 1 Tbsp lemongrass (Tried growing it, but it died. I buy it in jars)
  • a squeeze of lime juice
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1 tsp tumeric
  • 1 tsp whole fenugreek seed (my own addition)
  • 1/2 cup chopped unsalted dry-roasted cashews
  • a handful of whole cashews to add as garnish
  • 1 tsp. ground coriander
  • 1 tsp. whole cumin seed
  • 6 cardamom pods chopped and crushed
  • 1 tsp. tamarind paste
  • A slice of trasi (shrimp paste)
  • A dash or three of fish sauce
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. peanut oil

Make it thus:

  1. Heat the oil in a wok or frypan and fry the trasi, then throw in the dried spices and tamarind.
  2. Add the onion and meat and brown it, add the bay.
  3. Add the potato and fry more, stirring well to give them a chance to suck up some flavour.
  4. Add  the stock powder, fish sauce, sugar, chopped nuts. Stir.
  5. Pour in the coconut cream and water. Stir.
  6. Bring to the boil, cover, and reduce the heat to a slow simmer for an hour –  stirring occasionally.
  7. After an hour remove the lid or open the vent so that the stock can reduce and thicken.
  8.  Continue cooking and stirring until it has that “I am done – Eat me” look.
  9. Serve with rice and a garnish of roasted nuts.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in coconut, curry, fusion, spices, Thai and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Massaman Curry

  1. Pingback: Lazy Sunday | Hodophilia

please comment

