Palak Paneer

Some time ago Carl asked Cindy to look out for Stilton Cheese on her travels.  She returned with a selection of exotic cheeses, none of which was Stilton, or even blue.  Amongst the mixed treasures was a block of paneer.  Being the only person who knew what it was I ended up with it.  It sat in my fridge forgotten until I spotted it and decided I should check to see if it was still good.  It seemed so, and I decided to make use of it.  I love paneer paratha, but decided on Palak this time.  I have frozen  spinach already blanched and de-watered, which is perfect for this dish.  It comes in a 250g pack of six blocks.

I played Ravi Shankar’s session of the concert for Bangladesh while preparing it.  That introduction still cracks me up. He tunes his sitar, and the crowd applauds.  “Thank you”. he says. “if you appreciate the tuning so much, I hope you will enjoy the playing more”

Incidentally, I believe it is about a year ago that he died.

Palak Paneer

  • 2  blocks of frozen spinach, thawed
  • 1 Tbsp peanut oil
  • 1 tsp cumin seed
  • 1 Tbsp ginger
  • Garlic.  lots.
  • 1  onion, chopped fine
  • 1 can chopped tomatoes
  • 1/4 tsp vegetable stock powder
  • a pinch of white pepper
  • a pinch of fenugreek powder
  • 1/4 tsp chilli or a finely chopped whole chilli (to taste)
  • 200 g paneer, cubed
  • 1 tsp whole  fenugreek seeds
  • 1/2 tsp  garam masala
  • 1/2 cup plain thick greek yoghurt

Thusly:

  1. Thaw the spinach.  Purée with some of the yoghurt.
  2. Heat the oil. Add the paneer, fenugreek, cumin seeds, ginger, garlic and onion and fry until browning and fragrant.
  3. Add the tomato, pepper and stock powder and heat through to a simmer.
  4. Stir in the spinach purée. Heat on low until it comes to a simmer.
  5. Turn off the heat, add the remaining yoghurt and the garam masala and stir through.
  6. Serve  with Basmati rice

ADDENDUM

I made it again, with two changes:

I chopped the spinach finely rather than blending it, and I substituted 1/2 tin of coconut cream for yoghurt.

Nice!

With coconut cream

Palak Paneer

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in cheese, chowder, Indian, sacred food, Uncategorized, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Palak Paneer

  1. Pilgrim33 says:

    Coincidentally I was having Pateks bought-in-the-jar chicken biriyani tonight and added the few small tomatoes which something tore off the plant I was looking after for the landlords and the kumera and potato,diced, which I put in the microwave but forgot to add to last nights braised beef and onions.
    Quite tasty.
    The kumera I microwaved a few days ago,when cut in half,was hollow and filled with a gray mesh-even after microwaving on high for 5 minutes.
    I don’t know what that was but it would make a good science fiction special effect.

please comment

