Sambal Manis

Guests coming for dinner, and I am cooking Sayur.

Suddenly realised I had no Sambal to serve with the rice and vegetables

 

Woollies is shut.  So here is my spur of the moment and totally made up recipe for Sambal  Manis : Sweet Chilli Sauce.

I am recording it because I am very pleased with the way it came out.

  • 2 cups of Chillies – roughly chopped
  • Garlic  –  plenty
  •  1 tablespoon of palm sugar or dark brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon tamarind pulp
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon Lime Marmalade  (YES!)
  • 2 teaspoons salt

Blend all and bottle.

As this is not cooked I suspect it is not going to keep too long even in the refrigerator, so I am going to try freezing it in cubes for defrosting when required.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Note the spellchecker suggests “Abysmal” for sambal.  It’s not.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Indonesian fusion, jams and spreads, peanut, satay, sauce, vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

please comment

