Sausages.

At last I have tried out the mincer and sausage maker attachment for the Kenwood.

The first use of the mincer was to make a haggisburger from heart, offal, oatmeal and spices.  Not a success. Less said the better. I conclude that haggis must be steamed, and only steamed.

The second use was to make a duckburger.  I had some duck breasts that were not particularly tender when baked.  They made an excellent burger.  that was a success.  Now I turn to sausages.

Instead of describing fully how I made my sausages, I shall refer you first to this page at Honest Food Net.

Good advice.   It is  particularly important to be scrupulously hygienic when making sausages.  Need I remind you that the word botulism is derived from botulus the Latin word for sausage..

So follow the instructions.  here is the list of ingredients I used

A  two kilogram boneless shoulder roast of pork, cut into pieces.  I removed the skin and fat, and minced it separately through a small  screen then added it back along with

  • a cup of breadcrumbs and a half cup of oatmeal soaked with 1/2 cup sherry and 1/4 cup Stones Green Ginger Wine
  • two tablespoons horseradish sauce
  • chilli
  • Angostura bitters
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • lemon zest
  • garlic granules
  • dried onion flakes
  • smoked paprika
  • a tablespoon or so of dried chopped chives
  • a teaspoon of sugar
  • ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup pistachios and 1/4 cup dried apple blended to a fine consistency
  • a teaspoon of mace (yep, I finally found some – on the internet).
  • mixed herbs

Stir it all up in a bowl and leave in the fridge to marinate for a few hours

Mince it and stuff into sausage skins as described here.

Tomorrow I shall smoke them using the smoker on my BBQ.

UPDATE 0830  next morning:  I have added a couple of forgotten ingredients to the list above.  No measurements if I did not measure…

I just had a couple for breakfast.  Excellent flavour, in fact far better than I had expected.  Like a fine chorizo with a hint of je ne sais quois.   But the texture is a little dry and crumbly. Next time I shall substitute grated carrot for crumbs. I had thought the apple would provide some juiciness. Also maybe I did not have enough fat. Nonetheless I am really pleased with what I produced.  Much better than a first effort might have been.

Today I shall smoke them on the barbie.

C0275pre-minced pork fat and skin

C0276 C0278 C0280 C0234 C0270 C0272Update 2 10.00

Damn!  Don’t get distracted! I carbonised half of them and completely dried out the rest.  Back to the grinder…

zDSC0286 zDSC0288 zDSC0284 zDSC0283

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in barbecue, smoked, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sausages.

  1. Pingback: Like a One-Armed Sausage Maker | Hodophilia

please comment

