Prune Juice Will Set You Free

For brunch today I had grilled Aberdeen kipper on toast smeared with a little lemon/lime aioli.

Then I was busy with stuff until siesta time, after which I took the shiny bike for a ride and came back to do a little housekeeping.  It was a sweltering day and I moved slowly with everything I did. it was not until nearly 8pm that the temperature dropped below 30 outside, and despite having the front and back doors open it was a while longer before the inside of the house did.  Even  now it is warmer inside than out and I have been toying with the idea of sleeping outside.  But it is late to be setting up a swag in the dark.

I have just finished preparing 3 dozen turkey sausage rolls for my birthday tea at work tomorrow.  There is a tradition at the Shire.  Birthday victims have to wear a silly hat while everyone has a wee party.  I don’t have to, but I would like to contribute to the food.  I made the sausage rolls as in the recipe below except I added just a little chilli this time.  They are now wrapped in film in the fridge, ready to be baked in the morning.  About to have a cold shower before bed,  I realised I have not had tea and it is almost 11pm.   12 hours since brunch.

My usual breakfast these days, except for special weekend breakfasts of kippers,  consists of  muesli with stewed fruit.  My favourite is stewed prunes.  I put a big packet of prunes in the slow cooker,  add enough water to cover them, half a cup of sugar and a tot or two of Roses lime cordial, and cook overnight.  The resultant stew is then refrigerated.  I love it.

I could possibly have skipped tea, but I am supposed have food with my pills.

Tonight I took two cups of stewed prunes, two cups of apple juice, and a tray of ice and blended myself a smoothie for tea.

Delicious, healthy and cooling.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

please comment

