Hamburger Patties

First posted on December 8, 2007 by Alan

At last, after years of trying, here at last from my experimental kitchen, the perfect patty.

Better than any I have had before. Better even than Burger Fuel! 

I had to write the recipe down, because I want to be able to repeat the experience. 

Since it is nearly Christmas, I have decided to share this recipe with the world.

 This is as correct as I can get it, bearing in mind I didn’t actually use measures when I threw it together.

What you need:

Fresh lean mince – about 400 or 500g or even 600g – I don’t know exactly how much I used.

Americans could use a pound but who actually measures?…

  • virgin olive oil – 1 tblesp
  • mustard powder – 1/2 tsp
  • onion – 1 finely chopped.  I said finely. Really – no – finer than that.  Keep going…
  • egg – 1
  • mixed Italian herbs – 1 tsp
  • dried basil – 1/2 tsp
  • salt & pepper
  • thick soy sauce – 1 tablespoon
  • Worcestershire sauce – 1 tblesp
  • bitters – three dashes
  • tabasco sauce, two dashes 
  • dried breadcrumbs – handful or so – minimal to firm up the mix a bit.

None of the above is optional or substitutable.  Trust me.  It took me a long time to get this right. 


Mix mince & mustard, oil, salt, pepper, herbs, sauces & a dash or two of bitters.   All this must be added and mixed first so the flavours are absorbed into the meat and not lost into the crumbs.  No machine mixing. Use a fork and do it thoroughly.

Add a dash bitters to the chopped onion and stir together then mix into the meat.
Leave to stand a wee while.

Add egg and mix thoroughly.  My theory is that adding the egg only at this penultimate stage is crucial. I think the egg not only binds the mixture, but also seals most of the flavour and moisture into the meat particles.  By adding it earlier, my theory is that it would seal the flavours out. I deduce this from the fact that it seems to work that way.

Only at the very last add the breadcrumbs and mix.  Not too much. Should still be moist and soft.  The breadcrumbs are to help hold the patty together, not to fill it out.
roll into balls – about 6 – 8 generous sized ones.

flatten the balls to patties and fry or grill until cooked through.


serve in a warm bun with onion marmalade, Cos/lettuce/salad leaves, tomato, mayonnaise, aioli or blue cheese dressing, even tomato sauce, raw onion, cheese etc…  

By the way, I have just remembered, I make my own breadcrumbs.  Stale bread in the oven at around 95 degrees C until it is dry and crumbly, then into the blender with a dash of tumeric and paprika to add colour, and that hint of what the heck is that?  This may have some bearing on the unique flavour of the burgers…

I have used finely grated carrot in patties before, and it is good, but i didn’t this time.
notice also I didn’t use garlic.
I might try these later.

Update 2011

LATER:  I did and it works, but I have also discovered that the choice of mince is crucial.  Unless the mince is good the patties are not so good.  Since I have been in australia I have discovered TURKEY MINCE!  It is ROOOLLLY GOOD.

Also I have learned to make two slightly thinner patties, put a piece of cheese, cream cheese and garlic, or blue cheese between them, then seal the edges securely and then cook them.  Delicious, but be aware the contents may be explosively hot.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hamburger Patties

  1. Pilgrim33 says:

    I’m going to try this again,unless Countdown have the Guinness and Angus Beef patties at throw out prices again.
    They are taking food safety policy to extremes nowadays.

  2. Pilgrim says:

    I just couldn’t get the same result.
    Mine came out bland.
    Please post two fresh patties asap.

please comment

